The Countdown Ends (Weeks 36- almost 40)

I started counting down the days until Dawson’s arrival at week 25. I had a countdown app on my phone to keep up with it, and even wrote the days left on my whiteboard at work so I could keep my coworkers updated. (They all loved it! 😉) Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to meet our little boy. Now that he’s here, time hasn’t slowed down; part of the reason why I’m just getting this post up.

Weeks 36 and 37 were spent preparing for Christmas. It’s by far my favorite holiday and this one was going to be even more special since Dawson would be arriving at any time. Dawson and I were walking all the time in hopes it would encourage his departure from my ever growing belly.

Week 38 – I could have never prepared for what would happen this week of my pregnancy. After just completing our birthing class, I was in full baby mode. I was working hard to get everything transitioned at work, so I felt good about leaving whenever Dawson decided to make his debut. On Monday, December 19, after returning from a meeting, I noticed several missed calls from my husband. This is not normal. I called him back and he told me he was coming to pick me up. I got excited. Christmas was right around the corner, so I was thinking he was coming to surprise me. When I saw his face and he told me I needed to get my stuff cause I wouldn’t be coming back that day, I knew it was no Christmas surprise. I asked him what was going on and he asked me to pray with him. I knew immediately something was wrong with my dad. We prayed the whole way to Grove. When we got to my parents house, my mom was outside with two nurses. I knew what my mom was about to tell me. I could see it in her swollen red eyes. Nothing – I assure you nothing, could have prepared me for this moment.  He was in Heaven. I have so much to say about my dad, but I haven’t found the words yet to share more about this deep personal part of my life. I will tell you that my dad was an AMAZING man. I miss him so much.

Week 39 – These last few weeks of my pregnancy was a blur. After my 38 week appointment, we decided in order to have our Doctor available for delivery to be induced on Tuesday, December 27 at 9pm. We knew this would be a long day, as we had decided to have dad’s services at 2pm the same day in order for my brothers to travel in. The only picture we have was taken after my dad’s visitation the Monday before Dawson was born.

20161226_212506

Here we are right before Dawson’s big debut. Boy was I ready to meet our son! I think my body was too, don’t you?

20161227_211026

I’ll save you all of the gory details from labor. I was thankful to have Curtis, my mom, and best friend all beside me as we welcomed Dawson into this world. I’m pretty sure my dad was in the room too. Dawson’s hairline is a sure reminder Dad is watching over us. Dawson was born on December 28 at 12:03pm, weighing 8.5 pounds and 21 inches long.

20161229_031312

He is so loved by our family and friends. Here are just a few pictures I captured of family and friends who stopped by to meet him. There are several who came by who aren’t pictured. We love you all! And as promised, God has been faithful to provide strength and comfort through it all. Stay tuned, I’ll be sharing Dawson’s newborn photos soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Job 1:21 Naked came I out of my mother’s womb and naked shall I return thither; The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away, Blessed be the name of the Lord. 

Xoxox, 

KD 

Leave a Reply

