Niagara Falls

“there is none like you, O Lord; you are great, and great is your name in might.”  Jeremiah 10:6

Have you ever seen something that reflected the greatness of God? Have you found yourself in awe of who He is? How has His power changed you? I remember feeling His power when I saw Niagara Falls. Let me explain.

Last April, I had an amazing opportunity to travel to Canada for work. Although the people I was traveling with had been, they made sure we built time into our schedule for a trip to Niagara Falls. Well, I’m here to tell you the view and experience is worth it. (If you haven’t been, schedule a trip today.) I don’t think any picture or testimony could have prepared me for Niagara Falls; they just don’t do it justice. For those of you who don’t know me very well, I am like a little kid when you tell me you’re taking me somewhere I’ve never been. I could hardly wait for the work day to end so we could make our way up to see the long awaited sight. When we got there, I was the first one out of the car; trying to take pictures as I walked up to the misty view. Even from our car which was parked a few blocks away, I could hear the water roaring over the cliff. Then…the moment came, the mist cleared and there it was… a towering, violent, and magnificent waterfall referred to as Horseshoe Falls, one of the three falls of Niagara.

087

As I took pictures, listened as people discussed the force behind the water from this natural (then altered by man) wonder, and watched as tourists snapped their pictures in front of the Falls; I was reminded of the Creator. Who could have thought of this brilliant design but Our God? “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts,” (Isaiah 55:9).

IMG_2620

Why am I telling you about Niagara Falls? What’s the point? Yes, God is great…Kim, we know this.

Niagara Falls was created naturally, and over the years altered by man. It’s almost as if the Designer of Niagara knew the power of this wonder would point us back to our Creator. Just as we see God’s greatness in the falls of Niagara; if we look closely, we can see God’s power working in us. The Bible tells us in Romans eight that the “same spirit of Him who raised up Jesus from the dead dwells in you.” Wait a minute, read that again. “The same spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in me…” (Romans 8:11).  You heard it right. The power that lived in Jesus and enabled Him to conquer death, lives in you! Have you embraced that truth today?

Father God,

Thank you for your power over death. Thank you for allowing us to see your greatness in your creation.  Give us eyes to see the power that lives inside of us. Move in us to be women, who have faith to move mountains. You are great Lord. In your precious Son’s name, Amen.

 

PS. We also had the chance to see the CN Tower, so I had to include some of the pictures I captured there.

Final4

 

 

Leave a Reply

