My Favorite Things

“Rain drops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettle and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with strings, these are a few of my favorite things,” (My Favorite Things, Sound of Music).

I love the Sound of Music, don’t you?! Just as Fraulein Maria sings about the things that make her joyful, I’m going to share the top 10 things in my life that make me happy.

  1. My time with Jesus

IMG_20141127_082903

Spending time with Jesus looks different depending on what day it is, but it’s always the best part of my day.

  1. My family and friends

Normally I would have inserted a picture of my family here; but thanks to writing this post, I realized I don’t have any current pictures of them. 😦 I’ll have to add that to my to-do list.

I love people and am thankful to have a support system that encourages me and loves me through the good and bad.

  1. Kids

Dennis wedding myfavthings2

I’m around adults all day long, so the time I spend around children is rare. I love getting to laugh and play with them; they bring joy to my heart.

Pictured above (on left) Dancing with kids at a friend’s wedding

(on right) Enjoying a bike ride at Mount Zion with my niece Tori and nephew Nate

  1. Food: Ice Cream and Mac & Cheese

20150406_172452myfavthings4

No, I didn’t eat this banana split on my own. (Although I could have!) I may have the biggest sweet tooth this side of the Mississippi and my favorite dessert is ice cream. So many people ask me what my favorite flavor is, but I truly don’t know. How do I pick just one?! As for mac & cheese, I am biased towards my husband’s homemade mac & cheese. (pictured above)

  1. Flowers

IMG_1968 IMG_7649

Who doesn’t like flowers? Curtis knows the way to my heart is through mac & cheese, ice cream, and flowers. 😉

  1. Traveling

myfavthings3

This was taken over spring break in 2010 in Florida. My friends and I road-tripped from Arkansas to Orlando and I got to see the beach for the first time.(Pictured is my BFF, Jill. You’ll be hearing more about her in an upcoming blog.)

I enjoy the adventure that comes with traveling. You never know what you’re getting into and although to a control freak like me that sounds risky, it’s such a rewarding feeling to let go and live in the moment. (YOLO?)

  1. Sunshine

20150117_101746

Favorite season: Summer. Enough said.

  1. Running

269400_4780606834567_316282257_n

We took this picture before my first half marathon. I got to run with my sister in law, Stacey (on my left) and with my friend, Chantal (on my right). After this day, I realized I’m not a marathon runner. But, I still enjoy running a few miles at the end of my day.  There’s something therapeutic about spending 20 minutes running outside.

  1. Sewing

20141224_225307

I wish I had time to sew more because again I find this very therapeutic and something I’ll be able to do forever. It’s even more fun when I get to sew with my mom, sister in laws, and friends. That makes for a lot of laughter, girl talk, and good memories.

  1. Trampolines

Yes, I’m almost 25 and yes this is on my top ten list of things that make me happy. Please see happiness below. These pictures were taken when I was 21…don’t judge.

\myfavthingsTrampoline jumping

What are some things that make you happy? I’d love to hear from you.

XOXOX,

K

Leave a Reply

