Liar Liar

“…by the time I’ve made it to work at 7:30AM, I’m fat, ugly, and….”

I’ve talked to several women struggling with personal negative thoughts. Many of them have been speaking lies to themselves their whole lives and are now dealing with the emotional scars left from the lies. They feel defeated, tired, and completely alone. The past couple of months, maybe even years, I have been battling the same issue. Negative thoughts have affected my personal relationship with God, self-identity, morale, and relationships with family and friends. The way you speak to yourself affects every part of your life. Did you know that your first thought can determine how the rest of your day will go? So, what are you saying to yourself? Are you speaking truths?

My day can start out one of two ways…good or bad. (Bet you didn’t see that coming…) Let me show you how one tiny thought can dictate the rest of my day. On Monday mornings, my thought process goes something like this. “Where did the weekend go? Do I have to go to work? I don’t want to get out of bed. I don’t even like my job… (go to my closet)..And I don’t have anything to wear.” By the time I make it to the bathroom, I have convinced myself that my life sucks, I’m ugly, and the reason I don’t like any of my clothes is because of two reasons 1) they’re completely out of style and make me look like an elderly Librarian or 2) because they make me look fat. This all happens before I’ve even looked in the mirror. Considering all goes well by the time I’ve made it to work at 7:30AM, I’m only fat, ugly, and my wardrobe is completely out of style. (At this rate, my lunch break will be spent in my car crying to a sad country song.) There’s good news…Stay with me. What if I would have changed my thought process when I woke up? Let’s go through the scenario again. So it’s Monday morning and the last thing I want to do is wake up and go to work. But instead of thinking of the negative reasons to justify my desire to stay in bed, I think to myself “I may not want to wake up, but I’m here and have a purpose to serve.” Yeah, I know what you’re thinking…we can’t all have a “Buddy the Elf” personality every day. I know it’s not realistic.

BUT what if we tried to embrace our truths? What if we stopped telling ourselves lies and started speaking loving words to our soul? I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to think of myself as fat, ugly and living a sucky life. I want to hold on to what I know is true. I want to establish my identity based on who God says I am, not based on how I’m feeling. Psalm 139:14 says “I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” He created me, Kimberly Dickerson, for a purpose only I can fulfill. Genesis 1:27 says “So God created man in his own image in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.” He created me in His image. Second Corinthians 6:18 says “And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.” He calls me His daughter!

There you have it. My challenge to you is to determine the lies you speak to yourself and replace them with truths. Will you continue to believe the lies or embrace God’s truth? The choice is yours, but I do hope you choose the latter.

Your friend,

K

  1. If this is something you really struggle with, I encourage you to go through the “Me, Myself, and Lies” Bible study by Jennifer Rothschild.
4 Replies to “Liar Liar”

  1. Wow Kim! This is a daily struggle and I’m so glad to be encouraged by your words! Glad I’m not the only one but I will be trying harder to think positive about myself!! You are beautiful on the inside and out 🙂

    1. Thanks for the comment, Necole!! I think it’s a good reminder for all of us. We are constantly thinking of who/what we’re not instead of listening to the truth of who God says we are. You are beautiful too! Xoxo

  2. Love this and love you! Erics thoughts… one thing to ask yourself when you wake up in the morning is what is my purpose? Why am I here? What am I working towards? What am I thankful for? He agrees that when you wake up and think good thoughts will have a posite day.

Leave a Reply

