Obsessive planning

I read this note below a few months ago, and it stopped me in my tracks. I have it hanging above my desk now and thought this was a good reminder to share with you all.

Being an obsessive planner, I’m constantly trying to control my life (and sometimes other’s lives too.) I want everything to go according to my plan. It’s always with good motives; but the truth is, it’s what I want for them or for myself. It may not always be what they or I need.  This is a great reminder that planning only creates momentary peace. When life doesn’t go as planned that momentary peace is instantly washed away with an engulfing sense of confusion. But the good news is that God was never confused. At the end of the day, when your plans shift, God is in control. God, the Creator of the universe, the King of the world, the Prince of peace, is completely in control. He knew before I was in my mother’s womb what I would need, and boy does He know me well. I’ve learned my obsessive planning is from a lack of trust in God’s promises to me. He promises to never leave or forsake me. He promises to love us unconditionally. Yep, He knows exactly what we
all need. I’m not trying to say that planning is something you should stop doing, cause I know I’ll never stop. I’m saying that I should trust God’s plan more than my own. To have faith in God, more than I have security in my finances or my agenda. I hope you are trusting Him today with your plans. I love you all.

“You will not find My peace by engaging in excessive planning, attempting to control what will happen to you in the future. That is a commonly practiced form of unbelief. When your mind spins with multiple plans, Peace may sometimes be within your grasp; yet it always eludes you. Just when you think you have prepared for all possibilities, something unexpected pops up and throws things into confusion. I did not design the human mind to figure out the future. That is beyond your capability. I crafted your mind for continual communication with Me. Bring me your needs, your hopes and fears. Commit everything into My care. Turn from the path of planning to the path of Peace.” (Jesus Calling)

Proverbs 16:9 In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.

Xoxo,
Kimberly

Leave a Reply

