I KNOW he loves me

My Valentine and I

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails…” (1 Corinthians 13: 4-8)

I love romance novels, stories, movies, poems, and songs. I get excited when I hear that against all odds, the guy got the girl. I always thought that the ideal love story was found in a Nicholas Sparks book. That was until I discovered 1st Corinthians thirteen. In those verses, I can see God’s love for me as his daughter. The love depicted in that chapter didn’t completely make sense to me until I met my now fiance Curtis. Now don’t get me wrong, I had felt Christ’s love from my family and friends; but Curtis didn’t have to love me unconditionally…but did anyway.

How do I know he loves me, you ask? Let me tell you.

4 Reasons I know Curtis loves me:

  1. He pursues Christ on a daily basis and encourages me to do the same.
  2. He pursues my heart, not my body.
  3. He prays for me, even when he doesn’t want to. 
  4. He is my friend first, always.

He reminds me daily that I’m worthy of Christ’s love and of his. In just four months, I get to marry Curtis Monroe Dickerson. I’m beyond excited to see what God has planned for us, and enjoying the ride along the way. Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

Xoxox.

-K

Leave a Reply

